June 13-14, 2024, Kaiserslautern
International Special Track of IPSC 2024

Call for Abstracts:
Designing spaces intelligently - Decision support systems and platforms for cities and regions


Deutsch | English

Please note: Submission deadline extended until 2024/01/26

In view of current disruptive developments such as spatial polarisation and the digital transformation, municipal and regional authorities responsible for spatial planning and services of general interest are facing considerable challenges, but also opportunities, in order to be able to intelligently design spaces with a view to profound change. The large group of "babyboomers" (born between 1955 and 1969) entering retirement age also requires new orientations on the part of cities and municipalities as well as other agencies responsible for spatial planning in order to ensure corresponding age-appropriate residential locations and supply structures.

The influences occurring simultaneously and in interaction with demographic change determine the current and future development of municipalities, which makes planning decisions more difficult. For example, questions remain unanswered about the extent to which older people will remain in their place of residence and what demands on the residential environment exist. How can medical care be organised in the place of residence or region? To what extent can municipal finances be optimally used today for tomorrow? What measures does climate change require? And, how can accessibility be optimised analogue and digitally?

In the research project "Ageing Smart - Designing Spaces Intelligently", the development of municipalities is analysed with the help of mathematical optimisation methods and artificial intelligence in order to be able to estimate the consequences for municipal (action) spaces. An intuitively usable, digital and data-based decision support system is being developed that will serve as a decision-making aid for public actors in planning processes.

The Special Track combines the research fields of digitalisation and AI, demographic development and municipal and regional planning. We invite submissions that deal with the spatial, planning and organisational-technical aspects and the consultation of municipal and regional actors. Corresponding data analyses and scenario developments of spatial-strategic decision support are the focus of this track.

Submission and review process

Extended Abstracts (4.000 to 5.000 characters including spaces, references, tables and figures) in English language can be submitted until January 19th 2024. To guarantee a blind review, two versions of the abstracts shall be submitted in pdf format: an original version with author information and a second version without the authors’ names and affiliation.

Please submit your abstract via email to: submission@ipsc-konferenz.de.

All submissions will undergo a double-blind peer review, stressing the following criteria:

  • innovativeness/originality
  • relevance of the topic/research question
  • appropriateness of the method/approach
  • clarity of the outline

Dates and deadlines

  • 2024/01/19: submission deadline
  • 2024/01/26: submission deadline
  • 2024/03/07: information on acceptance/rejection
  • 2024/06/13-14: IPSC conference

Conference organisers

Please do not hesitate to contact us in case of any questions: info@ipsc-konferenz.de.

Conference programme and registration

Details on registration, the general programme keynotes, etc. will follow!

Best regards

The IPSC team

13.-14 Juni 2024, Kaiserslautern
Internationaler Special Track der IPSC 2024

Call for Abstracts:
Räume intelligent gestalten - Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme und Plattformen für Städte und Regionen


Deutsch | English

Achtung: Einreichungsfrist verlängert bis zum 26.01.2024

Die kommunalen und regionalen Aufgabenträger für räumliche Planung und Daseinsvorsorge stehen angesichts aktueller disruptiver Entwicklungen wie die räumliche Polarisierung und die digitale Transformation vor erheblichen Herausforderungen, aber auch Chancen, um die Räume mit Blick auf den tiefgreifenden Wandel intelligent gestalten zu können. Auch die große Gruppe der ins Rentenalter eintretenden „Babyboomer“ (geburtenstarken Jahrgänge 1955 bis 1969) erfordert neue Ausrichtungen durch die Städte und Gemeinden sowie andere Träger räumlicher Planung, um entsprechende altersgerechte Wohnstandorte und Versorgungsstrukturen zu gewährleisten.

Die mit dem demografischen Wandel zeitgleich und in Wechselwirkung auftretenden Einflüsse bestimmen die aktuelle und zukünftige Entwicklung von Kommunen, was planerische Entscheidungen mit Wirkung für die Zukunft erschwert. So sind Fragen offen, inwieweit ältere Menschen am Wohnort bleiben und welche Ansprüche an das Wohnumfeld existieren. Wie kann die medizinische Versorgung am Wohnstandort gestaltet werden? Inwieweit können kommunale Finanzen heute für morgen optimal eingesetzt werden? Welche Maßnahmen erfordert der Klimawandel? Und wie können Erreichbarkeiten analog und digital optimiert werden?

In dem Forschungsprojekt „Ageing Smart – Räume intelligent gestalten“ wird mithilfe von mathematischen Optimierungsverfahren und künstlicher Intelligenz datenbasiert die Entwicklung von Kommunen analysiert, um Folgewirkungen für kommunale (Handlungs-)Räume abschätzen zu können. Projektiert wird ein intuitiv nutzbares, digitales und datengestütztes Entscheidungsunterstützungssystem, das öffentlichen Akteur:innen als Entscheidungshilfe in Planungsprozessen dient.

Der Special Track kombiniert die Forschungsfelder Digitalisierung und KI, Demografische Entwicklung und kommunale und regionale Planung. Wir laden zur Einreichung von Beiträgen ein, die sich mit den räumlichen, planerischen sowie organisatorisch-technischen Aspekten und der Beratung kommunaler und regionaler Akteure befassen. Entsprechende Datenanalysen und Szenarienentwicklungen der räumlich-strategischen Entscheidungsunterstützung stehen im Fokus dieses Tracks.

Einreichungsmodalitäten und Reviewprozess

Aussagekräftige „Extended Abstracts“ (4.000 bis 5.000 Zeichen inklusive Leerzeichen, Literatur, Tabellen und Abbildungen) in englischer Sprache können bis zum 19. Januar 2024 eingereicht werden. Um eine anonyme Begutachtung sicherzustellen, wird um die Einreichung der Abstracts in zweifacher Ausführung gebeten: als Originalfassung und als anonymisierte Fassung ohne Nennung der Autorinnen und Autoren, jeweils im pdf-Format.

Die Einreichung erfolgt ausschließlich über die E-Mail-Adresse submission@ipsc-konferenz.de.

Alle Einreichungen werden im Double-Blind Peer Review-Verfahren nach den folgenden vier Kriterien begutachtet:

  • Neuigkeitswert/Originalität
  • Relevanz des Themas/der Fragestellung
  • Angemessenheit der Methode/Vorgehensweise
  • Klarheit/Prägnanz der Darstellung

Termine und Fristen

  • 19.01.2024: Frist zur Einreichung der Abstracts
  • 26.01.2024: Frist zur Einreichung der Abstracts
  • 07.03.2024: Benachrichtigung über Annahme/Ablehnung
  • 13.-14.06.2024: IPSC Konferenz

Organisatoren der Konferenz

Bitte zögern Sie nicht, uns unter info@ipsc-konferenz.de zu kontaktieren, wenn Sie Fragen haben.

Konferenzprogramm und Registrierung

Details zu Registrierung, Rahmenprogramm, Keynotes etc. folgen!

Viele Grüße

Das IPSC-Team